Redwood Symphony Maestro Kujawsky
Toggle Menu

Subscription Concert — November 21, 2015

Concert at 8 p.m.
Pre-concert lecture at 7 p.m.

Cañada College Main Theatre
4200 Farm Hill Blvd, Redwood City

  • Britten: Four Sea Interludes from Peter Grimes
  • Barber: Knoxville Summer of 1915
    with Hope Briggs, soprano
  • Tchaikovsky: Symphony No. 5

Hope Briggs

Redwood Symphony welcomes soprano Hope Briggs back after a long absence. Briggs sang the role of Bess in our complete concert performance of Gershwin’s Porgy and Bess in 2000, and we’re delighted to have her back to sing Samuel Barber’s most poignant and nostalgic work. We very much doubt there will be a dry eye in the house.

Britten was acclaimed as one of the world’s greatest composers when his opera Peter Grimes premiered in 1948. His Four Sea Interludes from the opera are highly dramatic and impressionistic portraits of the sea that form the psychological theme of the opera.

Tchaikovsky’s Fifth Symphony is one of many works that take Beethoven's Fifth as a model. As in the original, Tchaikovsky has crafted an emotional portrayal of tragic Fate in defeat. Some of Tchaikovsky’s most gorgeous, most singable tunes are found in this masterpiece, one of the beloved favorites in the orchestral repertoire.


Brown Paper Tickets Ticket Widget Loading...

Click Here to visit the Brown Paper Tickets event page.

$25 adult ($30 at door)
$20 senior ($25 at door)
$10 student

Redwood Advantage: 17 and under admitted free with a ticketed adult or senior!
Online sales end the evening before the concert

Buy tickets now